Eating: Cheap but Healthy?

One of the struggles I have found through living on my own is trying to eat healthy while on a budget.

Coming off of dining hall food, I probably would have been pleased by anything. I really wanted to find a way to learn to eat healthy while still keeping myself on a reasonable grocery budget.

The main thing I discovered is that the easiest way to do this is through low ingredient recipes. These are recipes that require 1-5 ingredients and are really simple to cook! There are websites to find these everywhere and I definitely plan on posting my favorites very soon.

I also learned to go to farmer’s markets. These tend to be much cheaper and you get more for your dollar! Look around to see what local ones are in your area. For me in Boston I go to one near”Haymarket”, an area/T-Stop. Granted, you have to make time in your schedule to go to these as they are not as easy to get to as the grocery store, but totally worth it!

Most recently I tried a new recipe using zoodles (zucchini noodles)! It is a very simple, low-carb stir fry that only took me about 20 minutes to put together for only $10. I also added chicken to the recipe to add some protein. Check it out here.

16736772_1613097318707367_1870943832_n.jpg

Do you have any favorite zoodle recipes? I’m always looking for new suggestions!

5 thoughts on “Eating: Cheap but Healthy?

Leave a Reply

